News:

Welcome to the Unofficial Help Forum

Author Topic: SMF noob with some questions  (Read 9382 times)

Offline GAPO

• View Profile
SMF noob with some questions
« on: May 11, 2012, 07:11:13 PM »
Hi everyone. I have been running a free forum with Lefora for a few months now. I recently bought a domain and hosting, and with the help of a friend, installed SMF 2.0.2. It has only been up for a coupleof days. I have been feeling my way around, but still have a few questions. For example:

Are there any working integrated chat mods?

Is there a way to banish individual members to a particular subforum?

Any themes that work particularly well with mobile?

Any way to replace the leaderboard with a header of my own making?

What settings do I use to keep threads from dropping off the board after a certain period of inactivity?

Any mods that will allow the creation of a wiki?

What is the best way to increase search engine visibility?

That's just off the top of my head, I'm sure I will have a million more.

Thanks in advance. I have done some searching around the SMF forums, and have received partial answers to some of these questions, but I still wanted to get another take on it.

Offline Illori

• Administrator
    • View Profile
Re: SMF noob with some questions
« Reply #1 on: May 11, 2012, 07:39:03 PM »
there are many chat mods on the mod site, but most if not all will cause load issues on your server, so only use them if you require them.

do you mean to block a user from a board? if you give access to boards to the post count based groups, then no you cant deny access to a board to another normal group. if you dont give access to boards to post count based groups and only to the normal groups, you can put the user(s) in a group that only has access to the board(s) you want.

there are some mobile themes, i have not used any.

i dont know of a leaderboard, can you explain or provide a link to your forum?

what do you mean dropping off the board?