News:

Welcome to the Unofficial Help Forum

Author Topic: Taken over previous hosting for forum, but need help re-installing things.  (Read 2330 times)

Offline TomeGods

• View Profile
Hi there, I'm an admin on a writing forum called Tome City. Basically I took over the reigns along with my partner as the previous admin disappeared for some reason and the forum fell into dis-repair, and then eventually the whole domain name was taken over.

After a short while I purchased a domain name similar to the previous one, and I was able to get the basic SMF forum set up with the outlines of the old site.

Obviously as I wasn't a moderator or whatever on the previous site, I have no idea what features I need to include back on the site to have it back the way it was before it went down.

There's things like custom message icons I've recently found out about that I need to get back, but there's other things;
- like the board and thread names on the home page are all different colours.
- A recent topic's thread placed on the left hand side.
- The shoutbox being placed at the bottom of the page.
And other small details too.

You can view the original Tome City (by the previous moderator) here: 'Tome City' by 'Overlord'

And the Newer version here: 'New Tome City' by 'New Overlord', 'New Overseer' and 'New Overdragon'

It would really help me out if anyone was able to help me out with this.  ???

Thanks in advance  :).

Offline Illori

• Administrator
    • View Profile
Re: Taken over previous hosting for forum, but need help re-installing things.
« Reply #1 on: November 03, 2015, 05:48:55 AM »
some of the colors in the theme are because of a custom image file.

http://web.archive.org/web/20111116010200/http://tomecity.com/smf/Themes/default/images/theme/main_block.png

the colors on each board name, seems to be custom coding in the boardindex.template.php. i am not sure it is worth the effort to do that.